How to diagnose root causes from faulty waveforms?

Ask for and share advice on using the PicoScope kit to fix vehicles here.
badtruckshop

How to diagnose root causes from faulty waveforms?

Post by badtruckshop »

I am new to all things picoscope but I am very interested in accessing its full potential. I have been using the 4425a every day for the past week and can agree with Steve's introduction post that I have more questions than answers. My question arose from a fuel pressure test on 2012 Ford F-450 6.7l Diesel. I have a waveform that has some deviations from the reference waveform outlined in the guided test. So I know I have a problem (also because I have p0087) but how do I accurately analyze that waveform to determine what part of the fuel system I should be looking at as a cause of my problem? I see the benefit in having known good waveforms but verifying a problem is one part of the equation. Finding the root cause of the problem is what I really want to know. Or at least a direction to move to further the accuracy of the diagnosis.

Iver
TwoWaves
TwoWaves

Re: How to diagnose root causes from faulty waveforms?

Post by Iver »

The scope will not always give you root cause of the fault. Neither will the scope make one a better Technician or help to fix more cars. It is Good Knowledge and Good Tools !!
My question arose from a fuel pressure test on 2012 Ford F-450 6.7l Diesel.
I'm guessing you attached the Scope to the Fuel Pressure Sensor ?? If so then you have not a Fuel Pressure test !!
Your Sensor Could be faulty !!!
I have a waveform that has some deviations from the reference waveform outlined in the guided test.
Don't go by the reference waveform, use the actual Technical Data for your Vehicle.

So I know I have a problem (also because I have (P0087)
P0087 (I think) is Rail Pressure Deviation (Negative)

That means that the Pressure Sensor is Sensing Less Pressure than Expected at a certain time !!