PicoScope 7 Automotive Software

Ask any questions about using the new PicoScope 7 Automotive software here.
Steve Smith
Pico Staff Member
Pico Staff Member
Posts: 979
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2013 7:22 am

Re: PicoScope 7 Automotive Software

Post by Steve Smith »

Thank you as always to the software teams for the latest release of PicoScope 7 version 7.0.63.7360 due here https://oem.picoauto.com/p7beta/download week commencing 21/12/20

Measurement System Selection

It is now possible to switch been the Imperial and Metric measurement systems using the preferences option. As a result, pressure can be displayed in psi or bar and temperature can be displayed as Celsius or Fahrenheit

• Click on the “More” button in the left-hand tool panel to reveal all the available options for PicoScope 7
• Click on the Settings symbol to reveal the Language and Preferences tabs
• Note: Clicking on the “Star” symbol to the left of the Settings symbol will place the Settings button in the left-hand tool panel where it will remain ready for use without having to select “More”
• Select the Preferences tab and choose the desired measurement system
Image 1
Image 1
• N.B Default applies the PC Operating System (OS’s) regional settings, Metric applies the metric system and Imperial applies the US imperial measurements system, regardless of the OS’s regional settings.
• The Measurements settings will be applied to the loaded psdata/pssettings files, meaning that if a file is saved in degrees Celsius, when loaded into PS7 that has the Measurements system set to Imperial (or default if OS is set to US), the data on the graph, in the measurements and everywhere relevant to PS7 will be displayed in degrees Fahrenheit and vice-versa

Multiple Start-up settings

• Click on the “More” button in the left-hand tool panel to reveal all the available options for PicoScope 7
• Click on the Settings symbol to reveal the Language and Preferences tabs
• Note: Clicking on the “Star” symbol to the left of the Settings symbol will place the Settings button in the left-hand tool panel where it will remain ready for use without having to select “More”
• Select the Preferences tab and choose the desired Start-up settings
• “Factory” Start-up settings will ensure the scope starts up with the default settings included with PS7 when originally installed
• “User” Start-up settings will ensure the scope starts up as configured and described here viewtopic.php?p=101289#p101289
• “Last session” Start-up settings will ensure the scope starts up as configured when closed during the last session of operation
Image 2
Image 2
Feedback on the design and function of the “Measurement System selection” feature and “Start-up settings” would be most welcome. Click on More > Send Feedback within the software

PicoScope 7 now includes PicoDiagnostics

Downloading PicoScope 7 version 7.0.63.7360 will now include PicoDiagnostics (PD) software version 1.16.0.5653.
PD Version 1.16.0.5653. does not replace your existing PicoDiagnostics version 1.16.0.5247 which is downloaded with the current generic version of PicoScope 6 Automotive (6.14.25.5247).
Both these versions of PicoDiagnostics (1.16.0.5653 & 1.16.0.5247) will be installed on your PC if you have PS6 installed.
N.B Your existing Desktop icon for PicoDiagnostics will however launch the new version of PD (1.16.0.5653) which is identical in functionally to the existing PD version 1.16.0.5247

Improved serial decode search and filtering for Boolean values (True or False)

Searching for fields with Boolean values (True or False) within the serial decode table has been improved thanks to the addition of True or False entry fields.

Following on from the serial decode “search” feature here viewtopic.php?p=101177#p101177 and the “filtering” feature here viewtopic.php?p=101246#p101246 when searching a field with a Boolean value (e.g. tick or cross) the argument text entry control will update to a True/False

In the example below we are searching for the “Valid” field which returns an argument “Equal to” True or False (In this scenario True is a tick, False is a cross)
Image 3
Image 3
Below we have edited the argument for the “Valid” field to “False” which returns a single packet with a cross. Note the search field can also be deleted by clicking on the bin symbol
Image 4
Image 4
Feedback on the design and function of the Boolean value search and filtering feature would be most welcome. Click on More > Send Feedback within the software

Probe Mismatch enhancements (PicoScope 4x25A)

“Ease of use” has always been one of the main driving factors behind PicoScope 7 and the new 4x25A Automotive scopes.

Probe Mismatch is one such feature that will enable users of the 4x25A scopes to connect the relevant BNC+ probes for the loaded file (saved using BNC+ probes) so ensuring your PicoScope is set up the correctly to replicate the loaded capture

Following on from the early introduction of Probe mismatch here viewtopic.php?p=100587#p100587 additional options are now available for selecting standard BNC probes when using 4x25A scopes

Using a 4425A scope, we have loaded the waveform below that was originally saved using BNC+ probes. Upon selecting “Run” the Probe Mismatch Dialog Box will appear to inform the user of “Probes Expected” and “Probes Found”. N.B. If the Scope/PS7 detects the correct BNC+ probes are already connected, the Probe Mismatch Dialog box will not appear
Image 5
Image 5
In the scenario above, Probe Mismatch has identified Channel A already has a x1 BNC+ test lead connected and is a match for the loaded file (Probe Expected = Probe Found)

Channel B however is a different story as no BNC+ probe was detected and so we have 3 options.

1. We could select “Run with found probes” where PicoScope will select the most applicable probe setting to match the “Probe Expected” (A BNC+ 60 A current clamp)
2. Connect a BNC+ 60 A current clamp, where the Probe Mismatch dialog box will automatically disappear and the scope will begin to run
3. Click on the “BNC+ not detected” button and select the relevant standard BNC probe from the choices displayed. Once the applicable standard BNC probe has been selected to match the “Probe Expected” (A BNC+ 60 A current clamp) the Probe Mismatch dialog box will automatically disappear and the scope will begin to run

Feedback on the design and function of the “Probe Mismatch” feature would be most welcome. Click on More > Send Feedback within the software

Recent waveforms

“Recent waveforms” are now displayed in thumbnail view when selecting “Open” from the utilities bar
• Launch PicoScope 7 and click on the “Open” button found within the utilities bar
• PicoScope 7 will now display the “Recent File Grid” which includes thumbnails of your most recent waveforms so allowing rapid access to previous captures
• Alternatively, click on the “Browse” button to locate older, previously saved captures
Image 6
Image 6
Feedback on the design and function of the “Recent File Grid” would be most welcome. Click on More > Send Feedback within the software

Duplicating BNC+ probes

Following on from our custom probe discussion here viewtopic.php?p=101246#p101246 it is now possible to duplicate and edit a BNC+ probe using the “Manage Probes” edit feature

• Clicking on any of the channel option buttons and selecting the Probe tab will reveal the “Manage probes” feature of PicoScope 7 (within the Probe menu)
• Click on “Edit” within the “Manage probes” section of the Probe menu to duplicate then amend the probe configuration for the connected BNC+ probe
• Below we have a blue x1 BNC+ test lead connected to Channel A of a 4425A Scope which has now been edited to display current (A) rather than voltage (V)
Image 7
Image 7
• Edit the connected BNC+ probe accordingly to suit your application. Here I have chosen to display the voltage (V) measured by a x1 BNC+ test lead as amps (A)
Image 8
Image 8
• The duplicated x1 BNC+ test lead is now displayed in the “Custom” section of the probe menu ready for selection when such a x1 BNC+ probe is required
• Below we now have a blue x1 BNC+ test lead connected to Channel A; however, we have chosen to apply the duplicated configuration for this probe such that we can now display the measured values in amps (A)
Image 9
Image 9
• A typical application for the above probe could be measuring the voltage drop across a known resister (using a x1 BNC+ test lead) to display current. Parasitic drain is one such example where we can now connect a x1 BNC+ test lead across a 0.1 Ω resister to derive current without using math. viewtopic.php?p=96541#p96541

Feedback on the design and function of “Duplicating BNC+ Probes” would be most welcome. Click on More > Send Feedback within the software

Enhancements and Bug Fixes

• Improvements to the probe & math wizard display across all platforms
• Improvements to the display and alignment of the serial decode table
• Improved stability of PicoScope 7 application during file loading
• Improved stability of Full Screen Mode when adjusting rulers
• Improvements to save and load of serial decode between time rulers
• Improve precision of “time” data within serial decode table
• Improvements to the application of Bandwidth Limit
• Improved editing function of serial decode table
• Custom probes and loaded probes now remain visible when BNC+ probes connected

I hope this helps and all the very best for 2021, “it’s going to be great”

Take care…….Steve

liviu2004
TwoWaves
TwoWaves
Posts: 285
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2016 8:23 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: PicoScope 7 Automotive Software

Post by liviu2004 »

I'm grateful for each and every beta, I am installing and playing with them all, looking forward for Waveform Library then I stop using 6.

Small error to be corrected on website, showing version 53 to download.
Attachments
7.0.53.PNG

martinr
OneWave
OneWave
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 4:06 pm

Re: PicoScope 7 Automotive Software

Post by martinr »

Thanks, Steve. PS7 is really taking shape; it’s time I bit the bullet and abandoned my PS6 comfort zone for good. I’m really pleased that Frequency Coupling has been changed to Frequency Counting: “coupling” always made me feel there was something I hadn’t quite grasped, especially as it was listed along with AC and DC Coupling.

Steve Smith
Pico Staff Member
Pico Staff Member
Posts: 979
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2013 7:22 am

Re: PicoScope 7 Automotive Software

Post by Steve Smith »

Thank you all for the feedback and nice catch re the download page too Liviu (I have informed the team)

Your collective feedback is shaping PS7 and it will continue to evolve as we move on

All the very best and take care......Steve

liviu2004
TwoWaves
TwoWaves
Posts: 285
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2016 8:23 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: PicoScope 7 Automotive Software

Post by liviu2004 »

Sad to see this, software is not watertight. How many 2206 have been calibrated on that date?
Attachments
PicoScope 7 Automotive.jpg

ben.martins
Pico Staff Member
Pico Staff Member
Posts: 263
Joined: Tue May 16, 2017 1:02 pm

Re: PicoScope 7 Automotive Software

Post by ben.martins »

Thanks for the heads up Liviu and yes, this is sad but it can be fixed.

I'll report this first tomorrow in order to make sure the next release is much tighter.

Thanks again.

Kind regards

Ben

Post Reply