Interpretation of scope correlation data!

Ask for and share advice on using the PicoScope kit to fix vehicles here.
Technician
TwoWaves
TwoWaves

Interpretation of scope correlation data!

Post by Technician »

This is not a work in progress, it is a sample from a Nissan Micra 1.0 twin cam engine CG10DE. The engine runs at idle and yes there is an intermittent misfire present which can be observed from the ignition trace, which could be either electrical or mechanical by nature at this time, however, I'm not looking for that fault, primarily I'm just learning to understand how to accurately determine the correlation between events taking place while the engine is running at idle.

The scope trace shows that the engine has operated through 720 degrees of crankshaft rotation, the upper trace is the crank sensor (inductive), the trace below it is the ignition event, followed by the Hall effect cam sensor, and then the injection event.

The ignition event is measured using the ignition probe placed on top of the ignition coil for cyl 1, the trace varies slightly depending how good it is located, but there is definitely a fault. The injection event is also triggered from cyl 1 injector. The cam and crank correlation look reasonable on the scope trace, but my confusion is;

1/ I am assuming the scope 4423 is triggering from the far left hand side of the trace,
2/ The scope settings used from the automotive menu are OK for the 4423 scope.

So my questions become;

1/ The cam sensor takes the measurement from the inlet cam, and the ignition event is taken from cyl 1, and the injection event is taken from cyl 1, therefore;

Why or how can the ignition take place after TDC if the scope triggars from the far left hand side, and

How can the injection event take place around 413 degrees after ignition?

I'd of expected the cam, crank, ignition and fuel to be approximately vertical to each other before TDC?