Crash course in unit conversions please!

Ask for and share advice on using the PicoScope kit to fix vehicles here.
Technician
TwoWaves
TwoWaves

Crash course in unit conversions please!

Post by Technician »

OK I'm new to the PicoScope and learning everyday, but I see many examples from more experienced professionals using volts in place of amps with reference to the vertical scales of the scope, so my question is this;

If I don't know how many mV or Volts equate to ma or amps how has the comparison been done!

I can't use P = V x I so what has been used in its place!

speck
TwoWaves
TwoWaves

Re: Crash course in unit conversions please!

Post by speck »

I haven't seen many that use Volt instead of Amps, but this could help you.
Attachments
custom_probes.pdf
(757.55 KiB) Downloaded 532 times

Technician
TwoWaves
TwoWaves

Post by Technician »

thanks speck ill give that info a read through

speck
TwoWaves
TwoWaves

Post by speck »

Hi, forgot to tell you that you have the pico connected to your pc to create your own probes.

Technician
TwoWaves
TwoWaves

Post by Technician »

Thanks Speck I'm reading through the custom probes guide taking it in. :)

Technician
TwoWaves
TwoWaves

Post by Technician »

I don't know how true this statement is but I have just learned today from a uTube video that 'amps' on the vertical axis of PicoScope are actually volts!

Unless somebody believes differently I understand this to be true;

100 mV = 1 A
500 mV = 1/2 V = 5 A
1000 mV = 1 V = 10 A

volrem
TwoWaves
TwoWaves

Post by volrem »

Oh boy. This proves to be a challenge but let's try.

Am I correct saying that you did get that from Frank Massey videos?

Your Picoscope will only measure voltage and therefore will only display voltage (in y-axis) against time (in x-axis).

Your Picoscope is unable to measure current, pressure and other non-voltage things directly.