2014 VERSA Note amp clamp connection issues

Ask for and share advice on using the PicoScope kit to fix vehicles here.
doghouseautowerks

2014 VERSA Note amp clamp connection issues

Post by doghouseautowerks »

Hello. I am new to pico scope. I am trying to learn the basics of pico on my own car, 2014 versa note, however, I am not getting a reading from the amp clamp for cranking amperage. I literally have the (2000 amp clamp) amp clamp at the positive terminal of the starter because the positive battery terminal has four different fusible links and is wrapped in a plastic shroud which would require excess work to get at. In addition I also tried to get the reading from the negative battery terminal but am not getting a reading through there either. Also I am using the guided automotive test in pico so all my scales have been set via the predetermined programming so I am at a loss as to why I'm not getting a signal. This car is the 1.6l with the intelligent key and also has the IPDM (intelligent power distribution module) module. Any help would be appreciated.

Technician
TwoWaves
TwoWaves

Re: 2014 VERSA Note amp clamp connection issues

Post by Technician »

Hello, I know this is very basic, but and I think it can happen to any of us when something is new and we are learning the ropes, but assuming the current clamp is a pico one, have you actually turned the clamp on at the clamp and zeroed it?

Assuming all is OK, try setting the menu to "Auto" and let if find the scope find the signal for you!

liviu2004
TwoWaves
TwoWaves

Post by liviu2004 »

And does it have a battery?

doghouseautowerks

Yes. The amp clamp was powered on and zeroed. I've used the pico on another car already to good effect but the versa is giving me one heck of a time.

Steve Smith
Pico Staff Member
Pico Staff Member

Post by Steve Smith »

Hello and thank you for the posts.

This sounds very odd given the location of the current clamp is adjacent to the starter.