New To Pico needing advice on what kit to buy

Ask any questions relating to the PicoScope hardware or kit contents here.
If you have any questions prior to purchasing the kit post them here.
robertsonautorepairs

New To Pico needing advice on what kit to buy

Post by robertsonautorepairs »

Hi guys how are you all. Im wanting to buy a Pico scope but not sure what's best to buy. Im a ex BMW tech and have used there scope for years but I'm now setting up on my own and I want a scope that will be best for fixing vehicle electrical faults such as battery drains. Sensor and actuator fault finding. And also injector diesel and petrol testing and ignition coils. I'd prefer 4 channel then 2 and I know Pico offer different kits. What's the best kit to buy?
Kind regards
Phil

STC
Banned

Re: New To Pico needing advice on what kit to buy

Post by STC »

I'd prefer 4 channel then 2
That is the most important decision you need to make because it is the only one you cannot easily change in the future. You have used a scope before so you will know the advantages of 4 channels over two.

As for which kit then it is not easy to predict what cars and faults will come through your door.
fixing vehicle electrical faults such as battery drains. Sensor and actuator fault finding. And also injector diesel and petrol testing and ignition coils.
Basically what I and others rely on the Pico for. I have listed the accessories below that I use. Most frequently used first

Every day stuff.
Amp Clamps 2 small for everything and the larger one for Cranking Amps.
Breakout leads make life easier and saves cutting and soldering wires.
A Pressure Transducer or 2 (eg WPS500 kit) is the daddy if you want to see things others just cannot hope to.
HT lead extensions.

I have had the benefit of a Pico for some years now so have reasonable experience and the benefit of hindsight.