New Guy From Mill Creek

Come here to introduce yourself, who you are, what you do, and tell us your
experience with our automotive products.
tgaddy

New Guy From Mill Creek

Post by tgaddy »

New to the site. Toolmaker by trade. I've been working on cars all my life, DIY. Ready to take it to the next step.
I bought a cheap scope online, (hantek 1008) to do some dabbling. Pure confusion that Scope. The software is horrible. I did buy the appropriate leads, amp clamps, and Secondary probes, including the COP, but spent way too much time with the afore mentioned software and clunky freeze prone hardware.
So I started looking at Pico. Downloaded the software. Going through the videos.
I get it.
Nothing worth having is ever cheap.
However, as a DIY'R I'm having trouble justifying the layout for the newest hardware. I'm looking for some guidance on some used equipment that would be automotive compatible but not break the bank. specifically looking at Pico.
This company is dedicated to getting it right, not just draining your wallet.
Thanks, Terry!

Steve Smith
Pico Staff Member
Pico Staff Member

Re: New Guy From Mill Creek

Post by Steve Smith »

Hello Terry and welcome to Pico, thank you for posting

I loved your comment "Nothing worth having is ever cheap"

Isn't that the truth and never more applicable than in our trade.

Most certainly the 2 Channel PicoScope 4225 will get you safely on your automotive journey, which can be purchased as a stand-alone scope or as a Starter Kit.
https://www.picoauto.com/en/products/au ... t/overview

As for used PicoScopes, they are out there but always a risk if we don't know the source or reason for sale.

The 4 channel 3423, and 4423 are both great scopes and most are held onto by previous owners even though they may have purchased the current model.

As a used scope and if you can find one, I would go for the 4423 as here you have 4 Channels with 100 V max input and frequency coupling.

I hope this helps, take care......Steve