Interpretation

Ask questions relating specifically to the PicoDiagnostics NVH equipment and software here.
rudolf
OneWave
OneWave

Interpretation

Post by rudolf »

Dear colleagues,

I would like to ask for some advice, interpreting the NVH. I'm new to it, and can't yet fully understand it.
The car I'm having problems with is a Volvo V50, MY 2008, 1.6 diesel engine, code D 4164 T, MT.
Owner says, the problem exists since his timing belts were changed.

Stationary, the engine, around 1300 RPM sends an annoying vibration, which can be felt through the chassis and steering wheel.
In transit, this vibration is felt between 1400-1800 RPM, in all gears.
All engine mounts have been replaced with new ones.

I have attached the NVH file, sensor was in the engine bay, on the chassis, in the middle, under the windshield, X facing forward.

Could you please give me a hint regarding the interpretation of the vibrations?

Humbly yours,

Rudolf
Attachments
180117_VibrationAnalysiser_002 pe motor.pddata
(706.16 KiB) Downloaded 780 times

Steve Smith
Pico Staff Member
Pico Staff Member

Re: Interpretation

Post by Steve Smith »

Hello Rudolf thank you for your post.

Looking at your captured data we have a considerable E2 (Second order engine vibration)

This is characteristic with 4 cylinder engines but certainly not at this level (Unless the accelerometer was mounted on the engine itself)

You mentioned in your post the accelerometer was mounted on the chassis; this should be insulated from such high vibration levels.(approx 500 mg in your capture)

Can we ensure there are no foul or alignment conditions with your engine to the chassis?
I am thinking here of a foul condition where a transfer path has been created between the engine and the chassis.

Can I ask, how was the vibration level before the timing belt installation?

Has there been any additional work carried out to the engine?
For example transmission, cylinder head, or injector removal.