Resonance and Natural Frequency

Ask questions relating specifically to the PicoDiagnostics NVH equipment and software here.
AdvTechTS
OneWave
OneWave

Resonance and Natural Frequency

Post by AdvTechTS »

Hello suspension experts, I'm a trainer and trying to clear up an inconsistency. In the PicoDiagnostics NVH Assist files it states that the natural frequency of a vehicle suspension is 10-15Hz and some newer vehicles are up to 20Hz. I have also seen other resources out there that state a range between 1-2Hz. This is a significant difference, can some please verify this value? maybe a link to a reputable resource also? Thanks!

Steve Smith
Pico Staff Member
Pico Staff Member

Re: Resonance and Natural Frequency

Post by Steve Smith »

Hello and thank you for the post.

I am so sorry for a late reply and want you to know I am working on feedback which I will post ASAP

I think we may have a confusion with the term Natural Frequency in terms of spring rate and Natural Frequency in terms of component inherent Natural Frequency that leads to resonance

It would appear 1-2 Hz is the target natural frequency of the sprung mass (vehicle body)which is goverend predominately by the spring rate, whereas the suspension system as a whole has a natural frequency of 10-20 Hz in which it will resonate if a vibration source of 10-20 Hz is applied

I will follow this up ASAP

Thank you for your patience, take care......Steve

Steve Smith
Pico Staff Member
Pico Staff Member

Post by Steve Smith »

Hello again and thank you for the post.

Typically T1 vibrations felt in the cabin floor or steering wheel tend to fall around 10-20 Hz which is often between 60 to 80 mph depending on tyre size.

This is no coincidence as let’s look at what is vibrating:

The road wheel imbalance is our source, the suspension is the transfer path whose collective component natural frequency falls within this 10-20 Hz band, the cabin/steering wheel are the responders.
S-T-R
S-T-R