Renault Master difficult to start

Ask for and share advice on using the PicoScope kit to fix vehicles here.
RYM6746
TwoWaves
TwoWaves

Renault Master difficult to start

Post by RYM6746 »

Hi all. I have a 2005 Renault Master chassis no VF1UDCWGH34000324. It has an extended crank time due to it taking along time to build pressure in the rail. I have done an injector leak off test and all is good. All are even with a slow fill time (only done 25 000 miles). I have bypassed the fuel filter with a transparent pipe and installed a vacuum guage. There is no air in the fuel and the suction pump is pulling 0.1 bar of negative pressure, 0.5 bar if I clamp the pipe. If I prime it with the hand primer until it goes solid (no leaks) It still has an extended crank time. When it runs it runs with out fault. If you switch engine off an immediately restart the crack time is better but still extended. I have definitely intermittently heard what sounds a lot like an electric fuel pump go off in the tank but not everytime I switch ignition on. But this vehicle has a suction pump on the back of the high pressure pump and a hand primer? ???? Seems strange to me. when I heard what sounds like an electric fuel pump I have not had any rise in pressure in the pre supply system. Has anyone seen this system before. I know for a fact that certain systems on this vehicle definitely have an electric pump but I thought that you wouldn't have a hand primer or even a suction pump on the back of the high pressure pump? If so could you let me know where the fuse or relay for the pump is so I can test further. Or if not what the next best test step is. Thanks for your time and knowledge

RYM6746
TwoWaves
TwoWaves

Re: Renault Master difficult to start

Post by RYM6746 »