Hello from Drag Radial Performance

Come here to introduce yourself, who you are, what you do, and tell us your
experience with our automotive products.
Pontisteve

Hello from Drag Radial Performance

Post by Pontisteve »

Hi fellow techs, I'm Steve from Drag Radial Performance. I specialize in performance (dyno) tuning American car's computers for aftermarket performance applications. I also do a decent amount of factory car and race car diagnostics. I have a Picoscope 4423 master kit, along with a WPS-500 pressure transducer. Looking forward to contributing, and learning.

FioranoCars
TwoWaves
TwoWaves

Re: Hello from Drag Radial Performance

Post by FioranoCars »

Hi Steve
Welcome and looking forward to hearing about your potterings and especially seeing WPS stuff, while it is niche, there is so much more I think we can achieve and learn about this kit and how to leverage it for more diagnostic learning outcomes.

Best
Richard

Pontisteve

Post by Pontisteve »

Hello Richard,

The in-cylinder pressure readings are one of my favorite things. I need to learn more about them, and how the peak compression readings compare to traditional compression tests. But already, the potential here is exciting.

While voltage is good, and amperage is great, I think it's pressure that holds the most untapped potential. Crankcase, manifold, exhaust, fuel, cylinder. There are so many interesting ways to learn something about the motor from pressure. A tuner colleague of mine recently turned me on to using a liquid pressure sensor in the cooling system on race cars, datalogging that, and looking for signs of increased coolant system pressure just before the motor lifts a head and blows a gasket. That's neat for racing, but I suspect it has a place in diagnostics too.

Regards,
Steve

FioranoCars
TwoWaves
TwoWaves

Post by FioranoCars »