VW Polo 2003 1.4 AXU missfire

If you are not a PicoScope user and want advice with a diagnostic problem then post here. Forum members may be able to help.
s13awj

VW Polo 2003 1.4 AXU missfire

Post by s13awj »

Hello im new to all this so excuse me if im out of my depth ive got a vw polo 2003 1.4 fsi AXU with a missfire its come into the workshop with alot of work done somewhere else looks like its had timing chain high pressure fuel pump and a cam from bills ive seen i brought my pico last year and havent really used it so now im starting ive scoped the ignition system and come up with this reading i wonder if someone can talk me through what ive captured this is cylinder 2 the one that looks different from the rest

regards Jamie
Attachments
Volkswagen_Polo_2003_Petrol_20160420-0002.psdata
(7.26 MiB) Downloaded 704 times

STC
Banned

Re: VW Polo 2003 1.4 AXU missfire

Post by STC »

That looks very odd !!!

Where did you have the scope connected and what probe did you use ?

s13awj

Post by s13awj »

hello sorry for the late reply i used a coil on plug probe ill show you another cylinder but that is the one that looked different that doesnt look right to me either though, am i right in thinking its a compression related issue?
Attachments
Volkswagen_Polo_2003_Petrol_20160420-0004.psdata
(6.99 MiB) Downloaded 612 times

STC
Banned

Post by STC »

S13
That looks equally weird and not much different ? I couldn't possibly say that was a compression issue or not. Take a look at some of the example waveforms within the Pico software (Under the "Automotive" tab)

Try to achieve those captures on a similar known good car, then use those scope settings on this car.

COP Probe tend to work better on some Coils than others, Do you have the COP HT Extension Leads and Secondary Pick Up Cables ?

As for fixing this car, are you over complicating this ? Have you tried swapping coils and plugs around to see if the misfire moves to other cylinders ?