Switching two cylinder running

Ask for and share advice on using the PicoScope kit to fix vehicles here.
Terry Ferguson
OneWave
OneWave

Switching two cylinder running

Post by Terry Ferguson »

I am new to my Picoscope, I have the advanced 4 channel set, My first case in which to use it is a very strange one, I got a 09 Ford S Max, 1.8 tdci, I was told engine was Scrap & car needed new engine, once in workshop, it did sound Knocking & rough & Smokey, I pulled off the injector wires on each cylinder (to see if Knocking Changed) it was off on 3 & 4, both unplugged made know difference, running on 1 & 2. I done injector leak off test, Preasure test & cylinder Compression test, While doing compresion test I connected Injectors out of Cylinders & they were injecting, All seemed good, when I started car again it was running just the same, But now it was running on 3 & 4, It was now off on 1 & 2, after doing various tests, It ended up running on every combination of Two cylinders (2 & 4, 2 & 3 etc). I removed ECU, which is in the most rediculous place, (passenger Front wheel arch 8 inch off the road at the front) & I hope is the fault, I tested injector wires, Injector to ECU & all wires to ground, all seem fine, I have now sent ecu off for testing, Has any one came across this Switching of Cylinders Firing?? I did put 2 60 amp clamps over the injector wires, the running ones appear (To me) to show a 3 fire event in 5/ms, the ones that were off showed a wavy line patten, with a slight 3 event Just visable, Any help is apppriciated, Also over the period of a week, It has never ran on 4 or even 3 cylinders, always two. Terry
P2190005.jpg
P2190007.jpg
P2190004.jpg

Fat Freddy
TwoWaves
TwoWaves

Re: Switching two cylinder running

Post by Fat Freddy »

Hi

I would think the engine light would be on for this fault. Any codes?