Crankcase waveform analysis

Ask for and share advice on using the PicoScope kit to fix vehicles here.
eric989
OneWave
OneWave

Crankcase waveform analysis

Post by eric989 »

Hi All,

Can somebody help look through the waveform below:
CrankCase waveform.jpg
The red is cylinder 1 ignition, blue one is crankcase pluse from WPS500X. Fire oder is 1342.
From the waveform we can be told:
Cylinder 1 power stroke (or cylinder 2 exhaust stroke) has a higher pluse;
Cylinder 4 power stroke (or cylinder 3 exhaust stroke) has a higher pluse.
fire order.png
fire order.png (3.84 KiB) Viewed 5453 times
The high pluses are mainly caused by the power stroked or exhaust strokes? It is my first time look at the crankcase waveform, not very sure I am right or not. Many thanks.

Have a nice day.
Eric

Steve Smith
Pico Staff Member
Pico Staff Member

Re: Crankcase waveform analysis

Post by Steve Smith »

Hello Eric and thank you for the post.

Peak marked number 1 is the pulsation formed as a result of the power stroke of number 1 cylinder.

This pulsation is formed as air beneath the piston crown is displaced into the crankcase when the piston accelerates down the cylinder on the power stroke.

Additional contributing factors to this pulsation could be excessive blow-by gas as a result of worn pistons / rings and cylinders (Cyl 1) along with the effects of number 4 cylinder on the intake stroke.(Also traveling down the cylinder)

Cylinders 1 and 4 are companion cylinders meaning that they are both at TDC and BDC together. When cylinder 1 is at BDC on the power stroke, cylinder 4 is at BDC on the intake stroke

At these stages in their four stroke cycle the pressure above piston number 1 will be positive whilst the pressure above cylinder 4 will be negative.

Both pistons are contributing to peak/pulsation marked number 1 but the major contributing cylinder will be
number 1

I hope this helps.....take care......Steve

eric989
OneWave
OneWave

Post by eric989 »

Hi Steve,