ford focus 2002 high idle, exhaust glows

Ask for and share advice on using the PicoScope kit to fix vehicles here.
petaus

ford focus 2002 high idle, exhaust glows

Post by petaus »

Hi, guys need a hand with this on.

I have a Australian 2002 ford focus 2.0 lr manual
It revs hold up and wont idle, the exhaust pipes out of the head glow red, no diagnostic codes, have smoke tested can only see a small leak from the idle control valve vent I guess.

Fuel pressure is around 50-60 psi, it feels leak it has a miss fire but runs on all 4,
tps voltage is .94 volts and look likes it never been adjusted, the pcv pipe was replaced last service, blocked hose still the same, I guess it the purge valve on the firewall wall blocked no change.
Any one seen this before?
Thanks pete.

Robski
Advanced User
Advanced User

Re: ford focus 2002 high idle, exhaust glows

Post by Robski »

scope captures ?

petaus

Post by petaus »

Hi, Rob thanks for your reply I am relatively new to the pico and its hard to get hand on training for it here in aus.
I can scope thing but have not yet tried to capture stuff to post on here.
My ford ids scan tool has no subscription at the moment so am using a snap on solus.
it started fine cold ideled around 1200rpm till the throttle is touches then its slow to come back to about 2300 rpm
Here is some scan tool data.
Rpm 2300
Load 25%
maf gm/s 11.7
injector pulse width 5.0 ms
LTFT 3
STFT 1
engine coolant temp 107C
where should I start scoping do you think?
Many thanks pete.

petaus

Post by petaus »

Hi, Rob, I removed the idle control valve and found a twig jammed in it, it must of been moving around jamming it in different positions, remove refitted valve all fixed.
Thanks pete.

Fat Freddy
TwoWaves
TwoWaves

Post by Fat Freddy »

I am relatively new to the pico and its hard to get hand on training for it here in aus.