Vauxhall ABS Sensor

If you are not a PicoScope user and want advice with a diagnostic problem then post here. Forum members may be able to help.
Peter704070
OneWave
OneWave

Vauxhall ABS Sensor

Post by Peter704070 »

Hello I work as a college lecturer and regularly make training rigs to use in class. I recently made an inductive ABS sensor rig which is brilliant for using in class.

We got given some parts from a 2011 Astra so I built another rig. These have the latest sensors on them so I knew I had to wire it up to the ABS ECU. It looks brilliant - but won't work as I didn't check the wiring diagram. The ECU has two lives to it but to 'switch it on' it must use a CAN signal.

Does anyone have any ideas how I could get this ABS circuit to work throught the ECU, the rig has the disc fitted so we can spin the wheel but its no good without getting a pattern.

Any help would be great. Thanks Pete.

Alan
Pico Staff Member
Pico Staff Member

Re: Vauxhall ABS Sensor

Post by Alan »

Not in the office to check, but I think these ABS sensors are the magneto resistive type (anyone care to confirm?).

If so then they will be similar to http://sensing.honeywell.com/product%20page?pr_id=31215 and it might be easier to power them with 5V or 12V rather than use the ECU.

There are a couple of ways of measuring these - they switch from 5ma to 15ma. You can use the 20A current clamp, but due to the small current loop the wire through the jaws of the clamp 10 times (effectively measuring 50mA to 150mA).

The other option is to supply them with 12V through a small resistor on the ground side. 100 ohms will create either a 0.5V or 1.5V voltage drop as the sensor switches.

Peter704070
OneWave
OneWave

Post by Peter704070 »

Hello

Thanks for the information - will have a go this week, just a couple more questions, do you think it matters which wire I use for the live to the sensor or should I try and find out from Vauxhall (Autodata doesn't say which wire is which)