Buffer screen help

Ask any questions about using PicoScope 6 Automotive software here.
blake

Buffer screen help

Post by blake »

Hello everyone,

I am a beginner with the pico 4 channel scope and I have been having trouble with the amount of buffer screens that i can go back and review. The scope seems to record up to 31 screens and then earlier data is erased. I went into the tools section and changed the buffers up to 800 and the scope still stops at 31 screens. How do i fix this? If I am not directly watching the scope and hitting spacebar when a fault happens I am going to miss the fault. I was fortunate to be watching the scope when a cam sensor signal dropped out causing the engine to stall and set a false crank sensor code. My point is I shouldn't have to run to the scope and hit spacebar when the engine stalls or when a fault occurs. Also updating the software did not fix this problem.

Help is greatly appreciated,
Blake

Liteace
TwoWaves
TwoWaves

Re: Buffer screen help

Post by Liteace »

Just change the collection time base, if you stick it on the max 5000s/div you have 13 hours 53 mins on just 1 screen, then you wont have to run anywhere but you wont capture a lot with that, so 1 s/div will give you 10 secs per screen x 32 / 60 is just a little 5 mins

blake

Post by blake »

So what your saying is that even though 1 second per division is too slow to see a correct ignition coil or injector waveform which is usually viewed at 1 or 2 miliseconds per division, I can go back and use the windowed zoom in feature and get an accurate waveform? Basically a longer time base is better for catching faults and giving you more time to review and then go back in and zoom in to get the detail that you need, am I understanding correctly?

Thanks,
Blake

Alan
Pico Staff Member
Pico Staff Member

Post by Alan »

Hi,