pico log 12/16 bookmark on the fly

Come here to introduce yourself, who you are, what you do, and tell us your
experience with our automotive products.
Tony C

pico log 12/16 bookmark on the fly

Post by Tony C »

Hi all, I am a newbie to pico osscilloscope'n ,I have a small automatic transmission repair business in Auckland ,New Zealand.established 27 years, hope this isn't a silly question...
Can anyone help with creating a bookmark or "flag" during a recording (on the fly) to assist in identifying ''events" during later analysis? is it possible to do this using the laptops keyboard.I am often looking at the timing of solenoids applying and releasing with each other to ascertain whether shift concerns relate to comand issues or actuator faults and have not found a suitable method of using the trigger function regards Tony

arjen
TwoWaves
TwoWaves

Re: pico log 12/16 bookmark on the fly

Post by arjen »

As far as i know there is no option for this. I use a self made trigger button, connected to the 12 volt plug. The only problem might be that there are only 3 channels left when using a trigger button.

Tony C

Post by Tony C »

Thanks Arjen, will set one up for future use, regards TC

PicoMike
Pico Staff Member
Pico Staff Member

Post by PicoMike »

I believe the use of a MASK may help in this situation? You can set up a defined area for the trace and when the trace goes outside of that range itcan alarm, or save, or you can simply navigate through the waveform buffer?

Here is a extract from a work in progress document I am working on:
Mask Testing
Mask limit testing is a feature that indicates if a signal goes outside a specified area, called a mask. PicoScope can draw the mask automatically by tracing a captured signal. Mask limit testing is useful for spotting intermittent errors or errors of specific value.

Masks can be found by going into Tools-> Masks and then Add Mask.