An ignition question

Ask for and share advice on using the PicoScope kit to fix vehicles here.
Chris_W
OneWave
OneWave

An ignition question

Post by Chris_W »

Corsa 1.0 X10XEP with no start and no codes set, according to the customer it was driven approximately 2 miles and then parked up. They have had a good go at this one themselves so it's got a second hand fuel pump, coil pack and air flow meter.

Plenty of fuel, I appear to have injector drivers and wet plugs but will not fire up on anything (even a sniff) so I thought I would start with the spark so got the scope out. I am not 100% sure yet what I am looking at but I am not sure that it should look like the attached file?

If it should then please feel free to ignore me... But if not then what could cause it to look this way? I've not really had much to do with these yet so I am just learning... :oops:
Attachments
corsa coil.psdata
(391.6 KiB) Downloaded 767 times

Robski
Advanced User
Advanced User

Re: An ignition question

Post by Robski »

Chris,

For starters your sample rate is insufficient for such a capture, 51 times slower than it should be !!

Secondly i don't recall these being a multi-strike system ??

Grab a CMP/CKP capture & let's see what's occurring ??

PS email me if you desire ?
I can create you a settings file if you want ??

Chris_W
OneWave
OneWave

Post by Chris_W »

So after a bit of advice, and some training I have looked at this one again.

Question, is the amplitude of the crank sensor enough?

Anyone got a reference to compare for Cam/Crank sync?

I don't seem to be able to resize the image right now (I think that is me though)?

ChA Ign primary Cyl1
ChB Ign Amps
ChC CKP Signal
ChD CMP Signal
Attachments
Corsa no start CKP CMP Pri#1 Coil amps.psdata
(5.37 MiB) Downloaded 652 times

Fat Freddy
TwoWaves
TwoWaves

Post by Fat Freddy »

AC coupled on channel C?

HTH
FF

Robski
Advanced User
Advanced User

Post by Robski »

VR CKP sensor ;)

Fat Freddy
TwoWaves
TwoWaves