compression test confusion

Ask for and share advice on using the PicoScope kit to fix vehicles here.
careys

compression test confusion

Post by careys »

VW Golf 1.4 petrol, tested with wps 500 & 4224

Compression test each cyl tested separately reads 13.5 on Picoscope Automotive mode
If I select PicoDiagnostics absolute compression no 1 cyl is down to 8.5
No 2 reads 10.5, no 3 cyl, 12.5, no4 cyl 8.5
I have ticked compensation, compression ratio & engine cc’s
Any clues as to why the variation

ecosse
OneWave
OneWave

Re: compression test confusion

Post by ecosse »

I'm not an expert by any means but one thing i would say is, dont use pico diagnostics or pre sets, get into the habbit of setting it up your self for all tests, i tried with pico diag too but never got very good results so just set it up and switch cylinders, see what you get.

post up the psdata files i#m sure someone will come along and help :D

Lee
TwoWaves
TwoWaves

Post by Lee »

Hi Careys

One major factor is that the Software uses both the WPS data as calibration data (Pressure), and the alternator Ripple Signal (for all Cylinders). It then 'tries' to align with the WPS and Alternator data therefore if the alternator Signal is poor, weak or the engine rotational speed is 'erratic' then this can have a huge effect on the way the data is displayed.

Like when doing a manual test, its good practise to make sure the battery is fully charged, the engine cant start, and that the throttle is held wide open. Also make sure the WPS has good battery life i.e. its not about to go flat.

Probably a good idea to save the files if you havent already when using the WPS AND Pico Diagnostics and send them to Pico Technology so they can see the raw data and give as much detail as you can about the vehicle. Alternatively just attach them to this thread and Pico will pick them up here.