Hello! Im new :)

Come here to introduce yourself, who you are, what you do, and tell us your
experience with our automotive products.
pjaska

Hello! Im new :)

Post by pjaska »

Hello! Im car mechanic from finland.

I have been working with cars and other vehicles for many many years. I have been professional car mechanic for about 2 years soon. I have great selection of tools at my carage (all sorts of basic tools, 2 pilar car lifter, bosch kts 540 tester and newest picoscope automotive advanced kit :D ) even better then many workshops in the area.
I just changed my work place (i have been working in 4 workshops) and i think i have now found a place that i might stick to :)

Lately I have started to be very interested at car electronic systems (mostly becouse of this site) and i have been studying this site very much! I couldnt figure out any other way for mastering the art of useing oscilloscope then getting one of my own :) only one thing is bugging me, its the fact that if i break it its out from my own pocket :roll: i have been useing it very carefully cos i dont have confidence yet.

I have couple of noobie questions, hope someone would be kind enough to help me forward with my training :)
I would like to know can the amp clamps break if too much current is going through it? In example: 60 amp clamp in 20 amp mode and 35 amp goes through or 60 amp clamp in 60 amp mode and 100 amps goes through it?? And i think that if i put 20:1 attenuator in place and start to measure ignition primary voltages, it shouldnt be able to break anything right? im maybe bit too careful with my scope :oops: Better safe then sorry (at least when dealing with expensive devices at your own expense) :wink:

Liteace
TwoWaves
TwoWaves

Re: Hello! Im new :)

Post by Liteace »

amp clamps are not a problem, you will just redline so to speak, as for attenuator on the Pico page it does say