New Member Tom-student & Motor Signal Confusion

Come here to introduce yourself, who you are, what you do, and tell us your
experience with our automotive products.
Tom-Student

New Member Tom-student & Motor Signal Confusion

Post by Tom-Student »

Hi to everyone on here

I am a student using a Pico Scope as part of a final year project based on a FORD TDCI engine that is fixed to an engine dyno. I have very little understanding of automotive electronics at this stage and I plan to use this forum to help me improve my understanding of the signals that I get from the engine.

So far, my project supervisor has shown me how set up the scope in order to record the signals of the crankshaft position sensor and a few other sensors.

During the testing we recorded the motor signal which controls the variable vanes on the turbo, the signal we were expecting was a Pulse width modulation signal. However we recorded a signal which appears to be an on/off positive and negative pulse. The signal appears to be at a frequency of 50 Hz, we are slightly concerned that this could be due to some interference from the mains.

Has anyone recorded a variable vane motor signal with similar results?
If anyone is able to shed any light on this It would really help move my project forward to the next stage.

Many Thanks

Tom

Wally
OneWave
OneWave

Re: New Member Tom-student & Motor Signal Confusion

Post by Wally »

Hi Tom, I think you will find it will be a lot easier if you can post a screen shot or better still the PSD file so we can all see exactly what is going on, not only with the trace but the settings you are using to get the trace.

Welcome to the forum.

Wally

Tom-Student

Post by Tom-Student »

Hi Wally

Thank you for your reply

The file should be attached to this post