Best way to set up a pico to catch an intermittent?

Ask for and share advice on using the PicoScope kit to fix vehicles here.
hexibot43
TwoWaves
TwoWaves

Best way to set up a pico to catch an intermittent?

Post by hexibot43 »

I'm still learning this beastie. I've got a 4423 Automotive scope that I'm using to death. I've got a car, a 2006 Dodge Status 2.4l AT that is giving me some grief. I'm getting a P0335 crankshaft position sensor circuit failure. A new Standard Brand (not OEM) crank sensor has already been installed. This vehicle rarely exhibits it's problem. Most of the time when cold. By definition this code states that the ecm hasn't seen a crank sensor signal while 8 cam sensor signals have come and gone.

Currently I've set my scope up with three channels. One for the signal line, one for the 5 volt reference line, and one for the ground line. I've set the time division to 20ms, and the sample rate to 200MS. With this I get 32 screens of data. I believe the problem is bad enough when it is happening to get caught with that sample rate. I also used pulse width based triggering off the signal line. The signal has a repetitive long pulse width that allowed me to lock this pattern in really good.

I need to get in this car and crank it to see the problem.

How best to catch this? How would you set this up to catch it? I am thinking the first thing I'm going to need to do is change my trigger. It worked good for looking at a good signal, but will probably be prohibitive in looking at what I hope is a bad pattern.

Would you start the scope running. Wait for the 32 screens to be filled, and then crank away? When would you freeze the recording? Hopefully it won't start right away. So the moment it starts running while cranking hit stop?

Thanks,

Marcello

Avdr
TwoWaves
TwoWaves

Re: Best way to set up a pico to catch an intermittent?

Post by Avdr »