Ducati Multistrada 1000DS

Ask for and share advice on using the PicoScope kit to fix vehicles here.
dominic
OneWave
OneWave

Ducati Multistrada 1000DS

Post by dominic »

HI again.

Looks like I was wrong on my diagnosis as per discussion here: http://www.picoauto.com/support/topic9272.html

I would really appreciate some assistance & guidance if its Ok to ask here?

I'll give you what I know and perhaps some light can be shed on things...

1. Bike comes in with error light on, battery over volatage ( 5.1 )
2. as in image uploaded, voltage spikes apparent and I thought regulator issue
3. replaced regulator & spikes rectified however error light still on.
4. today I noticed the volatge on the dash does NOT reflect actual battery voltage. Actual battery >14VDC dash displayed volatge max 12VDC
5. dash displayed battery voltage on this bike is via CAN line
6. ecu & dash grounds OK < .5 ohm
7. ecu to dash CAN line connections/wiring under .5 ohms.

As I am very new to scope use, CAN samples not yet taken however I have hooked up to known 2 CAN wires and data was not clear.

Should I check what is on the CAN line and watch the CAN signal as I disconnect sensors etc or some other approach.

Also does anyone know if Ducati (2005 model) use CAN high/low?

I have the genuine manual however it is not overly informative in relation to CAN type etc.

Thanks in advance.
Attachments
mts1100 overvoltage issue.jpg
Last edited by dominic on Sat May 19, 2012 12:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Alan
Pico Staff Member
Pico Staff Member

Re: Ducati Multistrada 1100S

Post by Alan »

Hi,

Is there any chance you can upload the .psdata file as well as the screen grab. If you are still connected can you use a 20ms/div timebase rather than 5ms/div as this will ensure you have at least one complete engine cycle (everything happens at least once on the engine). I assume the trace is of battery voltage and current ?