K110 MicroProbe

Ask any questions relating to the PicoScope hardware or kit contents here.
If you have any questions prior to purchasing the kit post them here.
Peter704070
OneWave
OneWave

K110 MicroProbe

Post by Peter704070 »

Hello

I have put a couple of posts up in the past, I work as a lecturer and try to teach students how to use Pico Scope. We have struggled to check the new ABS Sensors and Mass Air Flow sensors, this is due to the fact that the current readings are so low.

As a department we want to buy something that can connect to our PicoScope I've suggested buying a K110 Probe but at a cost of over $650 this is rather a lot especially when we need other important resources.

My question is does anyone know where I can get a K110 Probe at a reduced price or known of anything that will also measure such low current readings.

Thanks
Pete

Alan
Pico Staff Member
Pico Staff Member

Re: K110 MicroProbe

Post by Alan »

Hi Pete,

For the MAF sensors its better to measure the frequency output rather than monitor the current - that way you are looking at the same signal as the ECU. Look here for more details http://www.picoauto.com/tutorials/testi ... nsors.html

Active ABS sensors switch from 5mA to 15mA (typically) and there are 2 ways of looking at these. The first - on many systems you see a small switching voltage - find which wire has the higher output voltage and then zoom in to see the switching. This example is from an Aston Martin Cygnet (same waveform as a Toyota IQ).
aston cygnet abs.jpg